h1

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to North Easton

April 13, 2010

Well, actually it happened while I was in North Easton, but the title I used sounded so much better. So what happened there? Shortly after my double mastectomy in May 2008 I flew to North Easton, MA to visit my brother and his kids. This trip occurred before I started chemotherapy in my second trimester of pregnancy. My sister-in-law had a friend she wanted to introduce me to that had gone through breast cancer treatments a few years prior. I was taken to the home of Kristi Marsh, cancer survivor and mother to three beautiful children. I have to admit, I was a little nervous about starting chemotherapy, but Kristi assured me that I could get through it and still do the things that I enjoyed, the way she had done. She was an inspiration to me, and as a result, I did things during treatment that I would never have imagined possible. I went to rock concerts that summer and even got season tickets to see my college football team at the home games.

She also put me at ease by giving me advice about how to talk to my family about chemo. Her guidance helped me to prepare my young stepdaughter for what treatment could mean for our family. The funny thing about breast cancer (or probably any cancer for that matter) is that you end up joining this “club” of people, whether you want to or not. Every cancer patient’s experience is different, and yet we all feel the commonality among us. At the end of the day, we all support each other in our post-cancer endeavors, and I hope you’ll help me support Kristi in hers. She is one of the five finalists (chosen from 800 entries) in Prevention Magazine’s Picture of Health contest, which is accepting votes until April 15. Please click on the image below to visit the web site and vote for Kristi. If she wins, $5,000 will be donated to the Breast Cancer Fund, which is her charity of choice. Good luck, Kristi!

One comment

  1. Kristi is an inspiration to most everyone who has the privilege of meeting her! She is the picture of health, happiness and life. I am glad you had an opportunity to meet her before your treatment, I can only imagine how that helped.



Leave a Reply

