h1

It’s a cancer thing, you wouldn’t understand…

September 9, 2010

Surviving cancer changes the way you see life and the world around you, there’s no doubt about that. In fact, I wish I could bottle my renewed zest for life and share it with others. Anyone who has not been through it can quite comprehend the infectious optimism of a cancer survivor. Case in point…

A few mornings ago I found myself sharing an elevator ride with a gentleman in my office, well-known for his ornery and sometimes negative perspective on life. We exchanged the usual morning niceties. Out of habit, I suppose, I responded to his morning greeting with, “I”m doing fine…can’t complain.”

He smiled. “Because no one will listen anyway, right?” he chuckled.

Pause  “No…I…I really don’t have anything to complain about.”  

He stared back at me and smiled with only one corner of his mouth turned up. He replied, “You’re so full of @$#%!”

Oh, don’t make me go there. You’re going to make me go there, aren’t you? Yep.

“I beat cancer while pregnant and birthed a child with a spinal cord defect who is now walking. Really, It’s all good. I’m good,” I said.

He paused for a moment. “OK, ya got me on that one.” ‘Nuff said.

At times I hate having to give people like this gentleman a reality check, but at the same time, I kinda love it. Life is a great gift and so is health. Far too many of us take these things for granted, until, like me, you’re forced to appreciate them. The world should be a no whining zone. Put that on your bumper sticker.

4 comments

  1. yeah!


  2. You really are an inspiration. Thank you for sharing your story.
    🙂


    • Thanks, Julie. I’m really glad to share it with everyone. What a gift I have been given to walk away from this and have an amazing daughter to show for it, too. We are beyond blessed.


  3. Awesome Nancy! I do think some people really do love their misery but they wonder what no one loves it along with them!



Leave a Reply

