h1

Waiting for the other shoe to fall…

March 19, 2011

One question looms in the back of every cancer survivor’s mind: “What if the cancer returns?” Survivors would like to believe that survival is forever, but there is far too much evidence to indicate that recurrence is a very real possibility. Even with all the chemotherapy I received and the drugs I ingest daily, there is still a 15% chance that cancer will invade my body once again. Fifteen percent sounds like a lot, for example,when you could save15% or more on car insurance by switching to Geico. But when placed in a situation like mine, 15% seems to carry a smaller impact. At least, I like to think it does.

Either way you want to look at it, I issue the following warning to cancer:

I beat you into submission once. I am not afraid of you. I did not allow you to jeopardize the birth of my one and only child. If you rear your ugly head again, I will stand up to you, and I will beat you… again. Go ahead, try me. You will see what I am made of a second time.

Life is stressful and imperfect, but at the end of the day, I am happy to say, “It’s a great day to be alive.” Perhaps I need to coin my favorite phrase on t-shirts and bumper stickers: Never underestimate the infectious optimism of a cancer survivor. Come what may, I am ready for whatever the future holds.

3 comments

  1. You go girl! Muhammed Ali takes on Iran; you take on I-Rocky. Either way, it’s a knock out and you’re the winner!


    • Cancer messed with the wrong chick. That’s all I can say…


  2. tell it like it is… stupid cancer better run



Leave a Reply

