h1

To Err on the Side of Caution

May 16, 2013

Angelina Jolie’s recent admission of a double mastectomy due to carrying the BRCA1 gene made me recall my own choice regarding double mastectomy. I vividly recall the surgical path offered to me was the removal of the affected left breast only. It was only after I asked my doctor if my risk of recurrence would be reduced by eliminating both breasts that the idea was even considered. This is simply a plea to all who read this: never agree to any course of treatment until you have explored every avenue and asked every question you have…A good friend once reminded me that physician’s call their work “practice.” But “practice” does not make perfect in this respect. 

Leave a Reply

